Day 4 – The Spirit praises the Father and Jesus in us

As our relationship with each Person of the Holy Trinity gets closer and we know our own identity better, the Holy Spirit becomes more active in our lives. People around us see noticeable changes in us because we are being molded and we can also feel the difference. Our prayer life begins to evolve from a purely petitional or intercessory style, which tends to be like a monologue, to one that is more relational. That is, we converse with and relate to God more for who He is, rather than focusing on what He can do for us. And for what He has done for us, we become more grateful.

As our relationship with God continues to grow, praising God out of gratitude becomes a natural response to our overall experience of God as a loving Father, and as our saving Lord.

That explains the numerous accounts of people praising God in the Bible.

Let everything that breathes praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!

(Psalm 150:6)

However, for many of us, we find ourselves praising God only when we are told or feel obligated to do so, for example, during the liturgies. Praising God out of obligation or without a genuine heart is not meaningful to us. On the other hand, praising God with conviction and the right attitude can intensify our intimacy with God, and thus have a transforming effect on us!

The Spirit helps activate our habit of praising God

Typically, we praise others when we are grateful to them. When we face difficulties in life, we are often reminded to count our blessings. It is done so that we can be made aware of God's graces and providence in our lives, and we become more grateful, hopeful and joyful as a result. Such intentionality will slowly become natural the more we taste the goodness of God through a more frequent and deeper encounter of God's love led by the Spirit. As this "mechanism of gratefulness" is activated by the Spirit, we praise God more. At the same time, the Spirit joins us in our praises. As we praise more, the Spirit's presence in our lives becomes stronger.

In the end, praising God is not a task to be completed. Rather, it will become a habit, or even a way of living.

As we praise God out of a heart of gratitude, we fix our gaze on the loving care and power of God, rather than our weaknesses, deficiencies, and sinfulness. It helps us to overlook our brokenness while lifting our spirit and soul to our Almighty God.

Praising God gives us Joy

While God doesn't need our praises, He wants more of us! As we praise God, it engages our heart and our being more than just our mind, which helps us connect to God more readily.

As we become more present and closer to God, it brings Him great joy! Reciprocally, as we remain in His love, His joy will be in us and our joy will be complete. That is the ultimate goal of God for us according to Jesus. (cf. John 15:10-11)

Praising God gives us New Lenses

Praising God "opens doors" to blessings from above in times of troubles. Not that blessings are absent at times of trials but our eyes and hearts close in to make us blind to blessings as we focus our attention only on the imminent hurdles and sufferings.

Praising God helps us refocus our gazes on God, turning our inward-looking self-centred mode back to other-focused Christ-Centred mode. As we praise God, we are also giving the Spirit permission to act upon us. When He acts, both healings and miracles begin to happen! And signs and wonders begin to accompany our works.

"About midnight, while Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God as the prisoners listened, there was suddenly such a severe earthquake that the foundations of the jail shook; all the doors flew open, and the chains of all were pulled loose."

(Acts 16:25-26)

Here we can witness that not only does praising God bring us joy and hope amidst sufferings, but God also responds and accompanies us with miracles and wonders! And we begin to taste what it is like when the Spirit lives and acts in and through us. That is the reason why it is even more important to praise God during trials and storms in our lives!

Praising God unifies us before God

As we sing praises to God together, we can have a very edifying experience when our different voices blend together harmoniously. It unifies us and helps break barriers of our differences. It brings tremendous joy to God to see us in perfect communion, enjoying each other's company and abiding in Him. As you can imagine, praising God together can intensify our encounter with God. It is like singing together with all the angels and saints, giving us a real taste of Heaven on earth.

Most important of all, praising God helps tune our hearts to the movement of the Holy Spirit, which makes us more attentive to His prompts and inspirations. And by humbling ourselves to receive His divine empowerment, the Spirit helps conform us to the Father's will!

REFLECTION

Have you been grateful to God by giving Him praises in your life? Please spend some time to reflect on that and see how you can do better.

TODAY'S PRAYER

Dear God, thank you for making me aware of my lack of gratitude and not making enough effort to praise You. I beg you to forgive my ungrateful heart with all the disappointments and heartbreaks that I have caused You through the years. Please replace my heart of stone with a heart of flesh (Ezekiel 36:26). Bless the Lord, O my soul, don’t allow me to forget all your benefits! (Psalm 103:2) I ask this in the name of Jesus. Amen!

Come Holy Spirit, come by means of the powerful intercession of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, your well beloved spouse.

My beloved child, I forgive you. It is consoling to me to see your penitent heart. Give me your heart, and I will give you a new one. My only wish is that you remain always with me, and that your joy be complete! I love you always!

Novena to the Holy Spirit:

Invocation Prayer to the Holy Spirit

Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and enkindle in them the fire of your love. O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul, I adore you. Enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, and console me. Tell me what to do, direct my every choice. I promise to submit myself to all you desire of me and to accept all that you permit to happen to me. Let me only know your will. Grant this through Christ Our Lord. Amen.

Day Four Desiring the Spirit "Belief" Luke 11:9-13: And I tell you, ask and you will receive: seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For anyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds, and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. What father among you would hand his son a snake when he asks for a fish? Or hand him a scorpion when he asks for an egg? If you then who are wicked, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him.

Meditation: God is all around us. His Spirit pervades the universe and yet we do not let His Spirit in. We try to get along without His help and we make a mess of our lives. We can do nothing of any value without God's help. Our human relationships depend on God. When we let God's Spirit rule our lives, we learn how to get along with others and how to help them.

Prayer for the Day: Lord, I believe that Jesus Christ is you Son, and that we are saved through His grace.Grant that the Holy Spirit may strengthen my belief that I may glorify Him in all my works. Amen

Prayer for the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit

O Lord Jesus Christ, Who, before ascending into heaven, did promise to send the Holy Spirit to finish Your work in the souls of Your Apostles and Disciples, deign to grant the same Holy Spirit to me that He may perfect in my soul, the work of Your grace and Your love. Grant me the Spirit of Wisdom that I may despise the perishable things of this world and aspire only after the things that are eternal, the Spirit of Understanding to enlighten my mind with the light of Your divine truth, the Spirit of Counsel that I may ever choose the surest way of pleasing God and gaining heaven, the Spirit of Fortitude that I may bear my cross with You and that I may overcome with courage all the obstacles that oppose my salvation, the Spirit of Knowledge that I may know God and know myself and grow perfect in the science of the Saints, the Spirit of Piety that I may find the service of God sweet and amiable, and the Spirit of Fear that I may be filled with a loving reverence towards God and may dread in any way to displease Him. Mark me, dear Lord, with the sign of Your true disciples and animate me in all things with Your Spirit. Amen.

If you find this reflection helpful and have not registered to receive our daily email, we invite you to sign up here. If you have a Facebook account and would like to share your thoughts there, we invite you to join this Facebook group .

Sincerely invite you to share the reflections that inspires you by this day's retreat.


Instructions

To send us a voice message, please note the following guidelines:

  1. For computer users, use a good internet connection so that the sound could be recorded and transmitted to us without interruption.
  2. For mobile phone users, use a good data or wifi connection.
  3. An external microphone will give better quality, however, built-in microphone should suffice.
  4. Start your recording with your name and your location.
  5. The maximum you can record is 5 minutes.

第四日 – 聖神在我們之內讚美天父及耶穌

隨著我們與天主聖三的每一個位格變得愈來愈親密,而我們也更明白我們自己的身份,聖神在我們的生命也更活躍。因為聖神在塑造我們,身邊的人會留意到一些明顯的轉變,我們自己也會感覺到一些分別。我們的祈禱生活開始改變,由一種本質上傾向單向性的祈禱模式,即純粹只是祈求或代禱,轉變成比較著重與天主關係的祈禱模式。這就是說,我們與天主的對話和交往,比較著重天主本身,而不是著重祂能為我們做些什麼。而對於祂為我們所做的一切,我們會更加感恩。

隨著我們與天主的關係不斷發展,一份出於對天主感恩的讚美,就成為我們經驗了天主確是一位慈父和救主後的一個自然回應。

這就解釋了為何聖經裡有這麼多讚美天主的篇幅。

一切有氣息的,請讚美上主!亞肋路亞。

(聖詠 150:6)

可是,為我們很多人來說,我們只會在別人邀請我們時,例如在禮儀中,才會讚美天主,這是把讚美天主視為一種義務。對天主的讚美,如果是出於義務,或欠缺了一份真心的話,對我們是沒有意思的。另一方面,懷著一份信念和一份正確的態度讚美天主,會加深我們與天主的親密程度,並因此而改造我們!

聖神幫助我們啟動讚美天主的習慣

我們一般會在對他人感恩時讚揚他們。當我們面對生命裡的困境時,別人會時常提醒我們要數算自己的祝福。這樣做令我們更清楚意識到天主的恩寵和祂怎樣供給一切所需,我們會因而變得更感恩,更有希望,也更喜樂。但隨著聖神帶領我們更深入、更頻繁地體味天主的美善和經驗祂的愛情時,對天主的讚美就會由原本需要刻意經營,慢慢變成自然流露。隨著聖神啟動這個「感恩的機制」,我們愈會讚美天主。我們愈讚美天主,聖神在我們生活中的臨在就更強。

到最後,讚美天主不再是一個我們要完成的工作。讚美天主會成為一種習慣,甚至是一種生活方式。

當我們出於感恩而讚美天主,我們把目光注視著天主的大能和祂對我們的愛護,而不再注視著我們的軟弱、不足和罪惡。讚美天主幫助我們忘記自己的破碎,把我們的心神向全能的天主高舉。

讚美天主為我們帶來喜樂

雖然天主不需要我們的讚美,但祂渴望與我們更親近!當我們讚美天主的時候,不單止我們的腦袋,連我們的心和整個人都一起投入,使我們更容易與天主連繫。

當我們更親近和臨在於主前,為祂帶來很大的喜樂!另一方面,當我們存留在祂的愛內,祂的喜樂就在我們內,使我們的喜樂圓滿無缺。這就是耶穌所說,是天主想我們達到的理想目標。(參 若望福音 15:10-11)

讚美上主為我們帶來新的視野

在遇到困難時,讚美上主會為我們打開來自天上的祝福的大門。這不是指在經歷試煉時就沒有祝福,而是當刻我們閉上眼目和心目,使我們對祝福視而不見,因為我們只將注意力集中於迫在眉睫的障礙和苦難之上。

讚美上主可以幫助我們將目光重新聚焦於天主身上,將我們從專注於自己的自我中心模式,轉變成為以基督為中心並以他人為本的模式。當我們讚美天主時,我們也同時允許聖神於我們內工作。而當聖神工作時,治癒和奇蹟便隨即開始發生!而各種奇事及標記更會伴隨著我們的工作。

約在半夜時分,保祿和息拉祈禱讚頌天主,囚犯都側耳靜聽。忽然地震大作,甚至監獄地基都搖動了,所有的門立時開了,眾人的鎖鏈也解開了。

(宗徒大事錄 16:25-26)

這正印證了,在苦難之中讚美天主,除了給我們帶來喜樂和希望之外,天主也會回應我們,以奇蹟及奇事相隨!我們亦會開始品嘗到,當聖神在我們之內,並通過我們生活及行動時,會是怎樣的一回事。這就是我們為什麼更需要在遇上考驗及困厄時要讚美天主的原因!

讚美天主將我們在祂內團結一起

在歌唱讚頌上主之中,當我們不同的歌聲和諧地融和在一起時,會為我們帶來一份極其啟發性的經驗。這經驗有助打破人與人之間的分歧及隔膜,並將我們團結一起。眼見我們享受彼此之間的陪伴並活於祂內的那份完美共融,會為天主帶來極大的喜樂!你可以想像,一起讚美上主會加深我們與祂的相遇。情況就像與所有天使和聖人一起唱歌一樣,為我們帶來一份天堂臨於人間的經驗。

最重要的是,讚美天主有助於調教我們的心靈,使我們對聖神的活動有更敏銳的觸覺,從而更容易接收祂的提示及默感。如果我們謙虛自己去領受來自聖神的能力的話,聖神會幫助我們順服天父的旨意,履行祂想我們作的事。

反思

請用一點時間去審視你過往對天主感恩讚頌之情。請反思如何可以做得更好。

今日禱告

親愛的天主,感謝祢讓我意識到自己的不感恩,也沒有用盡全力去讚美祢。求祢寬恕我多年來因為欠缺一顆感恩的心而對祢造成的失望和心碎。請祢取去我鐵石的心,換上一顆血肉的心。(厄則克爾 36:26) 我的靈魂,請向上主讚頌,請你不要忘記祂的恩寵!(聖詠 103:2) 以上所求,是奉主耶穌基督之名。亞孟!

伏求聖神降臨,因祢至愛的淨配,聖母瑪利亞無玷聖心有力的轉禱,求祢降臨!

我親愛的孩子,我寬恕你。看到你懺悔的心,令我感到安慰。請把你的心交給我,我會給你一顆全新的心。我唯一的願望,就是你永遠與我在一起,好使你的喜樂圓滿無缺。我永遠愛你!

聖神九日敬禮禱文:

伏 求 聖 神 降 臨

伏求聖神降臨,從天射光,充滿我心,爾為貧乏之恩主、孤獨之父、靈性之光、憂者之慰、苦者之安、勞者之息、涕者之樂、吾心之飴客也。
伏求聖神降臨,以潔心污、以灌心枯、以醫心疾、以柔心硬、以暖心寒、以迪心履,伏求聖神降臨也。
以聖神之名,滿信者之心,天主者,賜我等聖神光輝,以長至智、以恆安樂,為我等主基督。亞孟。

第四天 為我對聖神之忽略而作補贖

吁,聖神!你是真理和極可愛的光芒。我心深處感到極度的悲傷。我承認,你幾乎不為我們大部份人所認識,甚至完全忘記。我們為很多憂慮而分心,忘形於世俗的風氣,忽略你的呵護和無微不至的照顧。我們很少想念你。我們的確忘恩負義!吁,聖神,請寬恕我們的過失,因為我們不想念你,沒有向其他靈魂談論你。吁,聖神!請俯納我的悔意,以這悔意來補贖我那應受責備的「健忘」過錯,並以此作為使我求豐盛光照的禱告,為神職人員,為一般信友。

向聖母瑪利亞求獲聖神誦

啟:至潔童貞瑪利亞,無玷始胎,聖神揀選妳成為天主的結約之櫃,請為我們祈禱!
應:懇求師保聖神快來,更新大地的面貌!(聖母經一遍)
啟:至潔童貞瑪利亞,藉著聖神,聖言降孕妳的母胎,你真是天主之母。請為我們祈禱!
應:懇求師保聖神快來,更新大地的面貌!(聖母經一遍)
啟:至潔童貞瑪利亞,當你和宗徒們在晚餐廳祈禱時,你充滿了聖神,請為我們祈禱!
應:懇求師保聖神快來,更新大地的面貌!(聖母經一遍)
眾:天主聖神,請你降臨,充滿你信眾的心,並在他們心中,燃起你的愛火。亞孟。

如這反省內容對您有幫助,而您未報名接收每天發出的電郵,邀請您按此報名。如您有臉書帳戶並希望在那裡與人分享,邀請您加入這 臉書群組

誠意邀請大家留言分享這天避靜內容帶給你的反思。

您可以選擇錄音分享


你的錄音分享

指示
向我們發送語音分享,請注意以下指示:

  1. 對電腦用戶,請使用良好的互聯網連接,以便可以將聲音記錄下來,並傳輸給我們而不會受到干擾。
  2. 對手機用戶,請使用良好的數據或wifi連接。
  3. 外接麥克風有更好的音質,但是內置麥克風已足夠使用了。
  4. 以您的姓名和位置開始錄音。
  5. 您最多可以記錄5分鐘。