Day 7 – The Spirit Empowers Us to Witness for Christ

From time to time, we all have something we would like to share with others: gifts for others for special occasions; something good or amazing that we have come across, like good products or bargains. We also share our important experiences and memories, stories and inspirations, or our new ideas.

Sharing makes us feel good and improves our relationships because we focus on the wellbeing of others by sharing something good. In short, we share important things with those important to us.

Whenever we share, if we genuinely desire the wellbeing of others, we want to make sure what we are sharing is accurate, is true or at least what we believe in. And if we want others to buy into what we believe, we bear witness for what we firmly believe in, hoping others will be convinced as a result. In the spiritual arena, we call this sharing bearing witness to others about our faith and the Good News! And as our faith becomes stronger, the desire to share and bear witness about the Good News also grows stronger.

There are different levels of effectiveness in how we share our faith with others.

If we want others to believe in what we have experienced, we want to share those experiences that represent significant moments in our faith journey. We share our conversion stories, especially those through which we were transformed. Those moments are called our ENCOUNTERS with God with any Person of the Holy Trinity.

So, once we have experienced the transforming power of the Holy Spirit, it is only natural for us to share with others such wonderful encounters we have had with God. Through our personal testimonies, the Spirit is able to touch people's hearts through us, leading them to think "If such an amazing encounter with God is possible for others, it may be possible for me, and I want it too." As we grow in our relationship with the Lord, we will have multiple encounters with Him.  When there is a chance to give a personal testimony, we ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to us which of our encounters with the Lord will most benefit the person or the audience. And surely the Holy Spirit will lead us as we speak for Him.

Before the Ascension of Jesus, He commissioned His disciples to

go into the whole world and proclaim the gospel to every creature.

(Mark 16:15)

Jesus told them to be witnesses for who He was and what had happened to Him. (cf. Luke 24:46-48) We should do what Jesus has commanded us to do not only by giving witness to all these things, but also by telling others what Jesus our Saviour means to us and what He has done for us personally. What we share will open others' eyes and hearts, especially those of unbelievers, because their eyes have not seen and ears have not heard. That is why the Church needs witnesses! This is the way of the Lord in sending out witnesses throughout the world to testify for Him in front of others. This is exactly what all the saints throughout the ages had done before us, even as they faced trials and persecutions. In fact, the word "martyr" came from the Greek word "μάρτυρας" meaning "witness". Giving witnesses is especially effective in the postmodern world.

St. Pope Paul VI taught us that: "Modern man listens more willingly to witnesses than to teachers, and if he does listen to teachers, it is because they are witnesses."

(41, Evangeli Nuntiandi)

Just as we share our hearts when presenting gifts to others, bearing witness is nothing but a self-giving act of love to others, calling to mind the cost all the martyrs had paid for witnessing for Christ.

It is surely not about showing off that we are better than others, but a genuine desire for the best and welfare of others. We are not presenting ourselves as perfect individuals, as only God is perfect. We convince others as they see the transformation in us after we have proclaimed that Jesus is Lord of our lives.

Cardinal Emmanuel Célestin Suhard:

"To be a witness does not consist in engaging in propaganda, nor even in stirring people up, but in being a living mystery. It means to live in such a way that one's life would not make sense if God did not exist."

Today's popular culture has taught us to share everything on social media. Unfortunately, it seems that the focuses of our sharing are mainly on food, purchases, leisure activities, and all sorts of entertainment and material possessions. The whole human race is starving from true spiritual food from above. Our witnesses and faith stories are what we need to add to the mix!

The world needs witnesses and prophets to open their eyes to God, and the world is thirsting for faithful witnesses. As Christians, we have experienced the love of God through Jesus and the Holy Spirit. The most natural and responsible thing for us to do is to bear witness to all nations for God and be ambassadors of Christ to one another!

REFLECTION

Am I excited about my faith? Do I have the desire to share with others the love of God and my personal encounter with Jesus?

Have I been too timid to speak up for my faith and for Christ? Is there anything that is holding me back from witnessing boldly for Christ?

Do I find I have nothing special to share with others about my faith? What is missing in my relationship with God?

TODAY'S PRAYER

Dear Holy Spirit, I know that nothing has held You back from loving me to the fullest and providing me with everything that I need. I am grateful for all that is You and all You have done for me. Grant me motivation to return Your love by bearing witness for Christ to the world. Supply me with whatever is lacking in order to boldly speak up for You and for my faith. I am still not ready, but I am willing! O Holy Spirit, send me!

Come Holy Spirit, come by means of the powerful intercession of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, your well beloved spouse.

My beloved child, your agreement to be sent out as witness for Christ to the world has touched my heart. I will surely be with you as you stand up for your faith. Be not afraid as I will give you courage and words. Your love for me and for my sheep is sufficient to carry you through. Remember, I am the wind beneath your wings! I love you always!

Novena to the Holy Spirit:

Invocation Prayer to the Holy Spirit

Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and enkindle in them the fire of your love. O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul, I adore you. Enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, and console me. Tell me what to do, direct my every choice. I promise to submit myself to all you desire of me and to accept all that you permit to happen to me. Let me only know your will. Grant this through Christ Our Lord. Amen.

Day Seven Receiving the Spirit "Repentance" Acts 2:38: Repent and be baptized every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins: and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.

Meditation: Seek conscious contact with God more and more each day. Become aware of God's abiding Presence during the day. Be conscious of His Spirit helping you. All that is done without God's Spirit is passing. All that is done with God's Spirit is life eternal.It is the flow of life eternal through the mind, body and spirit that cleanses hearts, restores and renews. Come to know God's eternal life in you and renewing you.

Prayer of the Day: Lord, you said in your words that I am to repent; turn from sin and turn to you. Then I will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. Lord; cleanse me from all ungodliness and unrighteousness so that I may walk in the newness of life according to the Spirit of holiness. Thank you for your forgiveness and for hearing this prayer, for I pray in the Holy name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Prayer for the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit

O Lord Jesus Christ, Who, before ascending into heaven, did promise to send the Holy Spirit to finish Your work in the souls of Your Apostles and Disciples, deign to grant the same Holy Spirit to me that He may perfect in my soul, the work of Your grace and Your love. Grant me the Spirit of Wisdom that I may despise the perishable things of this world and aspire only after the things that are eternal, the Spirit of Understanding to enlighten my mind with the light of Your divine truth, the Spirit of Counsel that I may ever choose the surest way of pleasing God and gaining heaven, the Spirit of Fortitude that I may bear my cross with You and that I may overcome with courage all the obstacles that oppose my salvation, the Spirit of Knowledge that I may know God and know myself and grow perfect in the science of the Saints, the Spirit of Piety that I may find the service of God sweet and amiable, and the Spirit of Fear that I may be filled with a loving reverence towards God and may dread in any way to displease Him. Mark me, dear Lord, with the sign of Your true disciples and animate me in all things with Your Spirit. Amen.

If you find this reflection helpful and have not registered to receive our daily email, we invite you to sign up here. If you have a Facebook account and would like to share your thoughts there, we invite you to join this Facebook group .

Sincerely invite you to share the reflections that inspires you by this day's retreat.


Instructions

To send us a voice message, please note the following guidelines:

  1. For computer users, use a good internet connection so that the sound could be recorded and transmitted to us without interruption.
  2. For mobile phone users, use a good data or wifi connection.
  3. An external microphone will give better quality, however, built-in microphone should suffice.
  4. Start your recording with your name and your location.
  5. The maximum you can record is 5 minutes.

第七日 – 聖神賜予我們為主作證的能力

我們所有人偶爾都會有東西與人分享,可能是在特別的日子送禮物給人,或分享一些我們見過的好東西,例如是好的產品和購物優惠。我們也會與人分享自己一些重要的經驗、記憶、故事和靈感,或一些新的想法。

分享令我們感覺良好,也令我們與別人的關係更好,因為透過分享美好的事,我們把焦點放在別人身上。總言之,我們與重要的人分享重要的事。

每當我們與人分享,如果我們真的為別人著想,我們會確保所分享的訊息是準確的,是一些正確的訊息,或起碼是我們自己相信的。而如果我們想別人也相信我們所相信的事,我們會為自己所相信的作見證,希望別人會因為我們堅信自己所分享的而相信我們。在屬靈的領域上,我們會稱這種分享為我們對信仰和福音去作的見證!我們的信仰愈深,我們與人分享信仰和為福音作見證的渴望也愈強。

與人分享信仰有不同程度的效力。

如果我們想別人相信我們所經驗過的,就要分享我們信仰歷程中一些特別及重要的時刻。我們會分享自己皈依的故事,特別是那些從中改造了我們的經歷。那些時刻稱為我們與天主的相遇,不論是天主聖三中的哪一位。

所以,我們一旦經驗到聖神改造的力量,與別人分享我們與天主這些美好的相遇是很自然的事。透過我們的個人見證,聖神能通過我們觸動人心,引導他們去想:「如果其他人能跟天主有這麼奇妙的相遇的話,為我也是有可能的,我也想有這樣的經驗。」隨著我們與主的關係不斷成長,我們會有更多與祂相遇的經驗。當有機會讓我們作個人見證時,我們請聖神啟示給我們哪些與天主相遇的經驗是眼前的這個人或在場的人最需要聽到的。可以肯定的是當我們為聖神發言時,必定有祂的帶領。

在耶穌升天前,祂派遣門徒

往普天下去,向一切受造物宣傳福音,

(馬爾谷福音 16:15)

祂告訴門徒們要成為祂的見證人,去向他人引證耶穌是怎樣的一個人,以及在祂身上發生了什麼事。(參 路加福音 24:46-48) 我們應該做耶穌命令我們做的事,不僅要為這些事作見證,也要告訴別人我們的救主耶穌為我們個人有什麼意義,以及祂為我個人所做的事。我們所分享的會打開別人的眼和心,尤其是那些不信的人,因為這些都是他們眼所未見,耳所未聞的。這就是教會需要見證人的原因!耶穌基督就是以這樣的方法去派遣祂的見證人往普天下去為祂作見證。這就是從古至今所有聖人所做的事,即使他們要面對審訊和迫害。事實上,「殉道者」這個詞源自希臘文 “μάρτυρας” 一字,意思就是「見證人」。在後現代的世界,見證是福傳工作中特別有效的工具。

聖教宗保祿六世教導我們:「現代人寧願聽信見證人多於宣道者;就算肯聽信宣道者,也只是因為那些宣道者同樣也是見證人。」

(《在新世界中傳福音》勸諭 41)

正如我們藉著送禮物來向人表達心意,為信仰作見證也是一種把自己交出的愛德行為,要記得所有殉道者為基督作證而付出的代價。

這當然不是要向別人證明我們比他們優勝,而是出於一份真正為別人福祉設想的渴望。我們不是要把自己展示成完美的人,因為只有天主是完美的。當我們宣認耶穌是我們生命的主,而別人看到我們的蛻變,我們就能使他們信服。

Emmanuel Célestin Suhard 樞機曾這樣說:

「做見證人,不是要做一個宣傳機器,或是去煽動人的情緒,而是要成為一個生活的奧蹟。意思就是你的生活要令人覺得天主不存在是不可能的。」

今天的流行文化教導我們在社交媒體分享一切。可惜的是我們分享的內容主要是食物、購物、消閒活動,以及各式娛樂和物質生活。整個人類都因缺乏來自天上真正的靈性食糧而在捱餓。我們的見證和信仰故事就是我們需要在社交媒體分享的內容!

世界需要見證人和先知,好使人們能打開眼目看見天主,而世界正渴求著忠信的見證人。身為基督徒,我們透過耶穌和聖神經驗過天主的愛,向萬民作見證和成為彼此間基督的使者,為我們是最自然,也是最負責任的做法!

反思

我有否為我的信仰而雀躍?我有沒有一份渴求去跟別人分享天主的愛,以及我與耶穌個人的相遇?

我是否因為膽怯而沒有為信仰和基督作見證?是什麼阻礙著我大膽地為基督作見證?

我是否覺得沒什麼特別的信仰經歷可以與他人分享?我與天主的關係欠缺什麼呢?

今日禱告

親愛的天主聖神,我知道沒有任何東西能阻礙祢徹底地愛我,並為我提供我所需要的一切。我為祢的所有,也為祢在我身上所做的一切而感謝祢。請祢賜我祢的動力,藉著向世界為基督作見證,去答謝祢的愛。請祢填補我的欠缺,讓我能大膽地為祢和為我的信仰作見證。我雖然還未準備好,但我願意!天主聖神,請派遣我!

伏求聖神降臨,因祢至愛的淨配,聖母瑪利亞無玷聖心有力的轉禱,求祢降臨!

我親愛的孩子,你願意被派遣向世界作基督的見證人,令我十分感動。當你站出來為信仰發聲時,我一定會與你在一起。不要害怕,我會賜給你勇氣,以及你所需要說的話。你對我和我的羊的愛,足以令你完成使命。要記著,我是你翅膀下的風,我能令你高飛!我永遠愛你!

聖神九日敬禮禱文:

伏 求 聖 神 降 臨

伏求聖神降臨,從天射光,充滿我心,爾為貧乏之恩主、孤獨之父、靈性之光、憂者之慰、苦者之安、勞者之息、涕者之樂、吾心之飴客也。
伏求聖神降臨,以潔心污、以灌心枯、以醫心疾、以柔心硬、以暖心寒、以迪心履,伏求聖神降臨也。
以聖神之名,滿信者之心,天主者,賜我等聖神光輝,以長至智、以恆安樂,為我等主基督。亞孟。

第七天 求賜真理

吁,真理和光明之神!你是神聖的火焰和熱力。神聖的真光啊,請驅除我靈魂內的錯誤和疑慮的陰影。請以無比的光芒灼熱及光照我靈魂深處。請恩賜我常常在你的光照下行走,逐退一切錯誤,忠心堅持於教會的真理。求你以神聖的真光庇蔭我,使我常常在你的真理和純然明亮中生活。

向聖母瑪利亞求獲聖神誦

啟:至潔童貞瑪利亞,無玷始胎,聖神揀選妳成為天主的結約之櫃,請為我們祈禱!
應:懇求師保聖神快來,更新大地的面貌!(聖母經一遍)
啟:至潔童貞瑪利亞,藉著聖神,聖言降孕妳的母胎,你真是天主之母。請為我們祈禱!
應:懇求師保聖神快來,更新大地的面貌!(聖母經一遍)
啟:至潔童貞瑪利亞,當你和宗徒們在晚餐廳祈禱時,你充滿了聖神,請為我們祈禱!
應:懇求師保聖神快來,更新大地的面貌!(聖母經一遍)
眾:天主聖神,請你降臨,充滿你信眾的心,並在他們心中,燃起你的愛火。亞孟。

如這反省內容對您有幫助,而您未報名接收每天發出的電郵,邀請您按此報名。如您有臉書帳戶並希望在那裡與人分享,邀請您加入這 臉書群組

誠意邀請大家留言分享這天避靜內容帶給你的反思。

您可以選擇錄音分享


你的錄音分享

指示
向我們發送語音分享,請注意以下指示:

  1. 對電腦用戶,請使用良好的互聯網連接,以便可以將聲音記錄下來,並傳輸給我們而不會受到干擾。
  2. 對手機用戶,請使用良好的數據或wifi連接。
  3. 外接麥克風有更好的音質,但是內置麥克風已足夠使用了。
  4. 以您的姓名和位置開始錄音。
  5. 您最多可以記錄5分鐘。